My Gardening Ministry

Following on from my last blog I thought it would be worth sharing some encouragement I found in the Bible regarding how we view our ministry.

My concern in my last blog was with whether the change in size of my group was an indicator of something being wrong, for instance the choices I was making in leadership. I was looking at 1 Corinthians yesterday and I felt it was encouraging so  thought I would share it with you.

5 What, after all, is Apollos? And what is Paul? Only servants, through whom you came to believe—as the Lord has assigned to each his task. 6I planted the seed, Apollos watered it, but God has been making it grow. 7 So neither the one who plants nor the one who waters is anything, but only God, who makes things grow. 8 The one who plants and the one who waters have one purpose, and they will each be rewarded according to their own labour. 1 Corinthians 3:5-8.

The thing that struck me is that I simply have no way of knowing whether I’m planting or watering and in fact, it’s probably different  in regards to each individual in my group. If I’m not seeing people changed now, maybe it’s just because this is a time for planting. Someone  may come along in the future and do the watering. That might be me, it might not. And that’s OK, because ultimately it’s not down to me. God and God alone is the one who gives the growth. I just have to be like the farmer in the parable of the sower; a faithful servant who keeps on scattering the seed even though he has no idea what soil it will land on.

That’s the problem with ministry. We can never be sure which soil the word is falling on, and sometimes those that seem encouraging actually have no root. Only time will tell.

The other part of 1 Corinthians that encouraged me were Paul’s words at the beginning of chapter 2.

1 And so it was with me, brothers and sisters. When I came to you, I did not come with eloquence or human wisdom as I proclaimed to you the testimony about God.[a] 2 For I resolved to know nothing while I was with you except Jesus Christ and him crucified. 3 I came to you in weakness with great fear and trembling. 4 My message and my preaching were not with wise and persuasive words, but with a demonstration of the Spirit’s power, 5 so that your faith might not rest on human wisdom, but on God’s power. 1 Corinthians 2:1-5.

Paul, quite likely one of the greatest evangelists to ever walk the earth (except Jesus) says that he didn’t come to the Corinthians with big words and clever arguments. He simply came to preach Christ and him crucified. It’s as simple as that. When the temptation comes to try and make your group more fun and exciting or any of the other buzzwords that are so often thrown around, what we need to remember is that it’s not about that. It’s not about gimmicks and it’s not about academia and the accumulation of knowledge. It’s about Jesus Christ crucified for us. And why should we preach that (apart from it being the truth obviously)? Because if we try and use gimmicks or grand arguments, then the glory goes to us, not God. And people’s faith will rest on those things rather than on Christ crucified.

That’s why I’m going to keep preaching Christ crucified. It’s not big and it’s not clever but it’s all that matters.

18 For the message of the cross is foolishness to those who are perishing, but to us who are being saved it is the power of God. 1 Corinthians 1:18

Leave a Reply

